It’s Finished!

Lisa Futterman, a cheesemonger with Pastoral in Chicago, joined A Michelin and A Mom last week as our debut guest blogger. Lisa presented us with this challenge: track down Cowgirl Creamery’s Red Hawk and create a “warm appetizer dish that celebrates the funk”.  The results? What did the Chef come up with? How about the Mom? Were they successful?

Kar I called a local cheese shop to inquire if they had Cowgirl Creamery’s Red Hawk in stock, to which the answer was, “no, but we do have a triple cream, washed rind cheese from Quebec that would be a suitable substitute”. I picked it up and then made the mistake of going to Granville Island on a Saturday morning; however, I did leave with a big bag of fresh produce. I decided to make pizzas and only cheated a little bit, asking my brother if my combinations were going to work. Jason suggested I add arugula to my second pizza. I made the dough from scratch, using a blend of all-purpose flour and blended (wheat) flour. I roasted and used almost a full head of garlic for the first pizza and at the last minute decided to saute my pears in butter and brown sugar for the second pizza. I must admit I was nervous about how “stinky” the cheese was going to be. We are in the process of selling our house and I really didn’t want a lingering scent of cheese wafting through my home. I reluctantly cooked the pizza at home, and we were all surprised the cheese was not as odorous as expected.

We paired the pizzas with two Okanagan wines, a Chardonnay and a Pinot Gris. The latter was the clear winner, the Chardonnay was too heavy for the cheese, while the Pinot Gris was crisp and clear, cutting through the creaminess of the cheese. Everyone loved the results, including the kids! Actually, they were unbelievably delicious and we polished off both pizzas as we watched the start of the hockey game. Many thanks to our friends who were my taste testers, cheerleaders and allowed me to use this photo of their daughter thoroughly enjoying a slice of “stinky cheese pizza”! Find the recipes on our RECIPES page.

** For the Vancouverites, I picked up the Sauvagine cheese at Les Amis Du Fromage.

Pizza #1 Fresh mozzarella, asparagus, fingerling potatoes, roasted garlic, spring onions & sauvagine cheese.
Pizza#2 Sauteed pears, toasted walnuts, sauvagine cheese and fresh arugula.

Jay I am on my way to L.A. today to meet with Common Threads; we are creating change in the lives of kids! I will post my recipes tomorrow.

5 thoughts on “It’s Finished!

  1. patricia says:

    Hi Kar, The pizzas look delicious and very gourmet combinations! The cheese sounded like a challenging ingredient and you pulled it off with aplomb!
    Tish

  2. slolsos says:

    The pizzas look amazing! – Yubaba 🙂

Leave a Reply

